Messages for my life · What God gives me

26th of March

The Prayer for Evangelism

As we give thanks, O Lord, for those men and women who by their witness led us to know you, we pray for strength and courage as we go forth into our community to share our faith. Give us grace and wisdom to know how to speak and when to be silent. Open the hearts of our families, friends, and neighbors, that they may receive faith in your Son Jesus Christ, to whom with you and the Holy Spirit be all honor and glory now and forever. Amen

Today I thank Heavenly Father for those men and women who shared the gospel with my grandparents. It is because of their hard work and dedication to Christ’s mission that I am blessed to know about the gospel today. They allowed themselves to be guided by the Holy Spirit and share the gospel in such a way that it captivated my grandparents, and made them want to learn more about our Heavenly Father, Christ our Redeemer and the Holy Spirit our Great Counselor.

This prayer is a prayer that I was introduced to at Good Shepherd Episcopal Church in Kingwood, Tx, where I take part in the choir. The line that really jumped out at me the first time I read it was,

“Give us grace and wisdom to know how to speak and when to be silent.” 

I prefer to be silent. lol … It’s not that I am ashamed of Christ and his gospel it’s just that I find it hard to go out and speak to strangers. I know some people for years now, see them just about every single Friday and Saturday and I still find it hard to speak to them. I used to say, “I’ll pray for those who have the Spiritual Gift of Evangelism so that they can accomplish the mission of reaching out to those souls who are in need. I’ll just wait here inside the flock/temple and wait for the souls to come.”   I used to think it was “their job”, to go out evangelize, my job was something else which I still hadn’t figured out.

Thankfully after guidance from spiritual leaders and above all guidance from the Holy Spirit I’ve learned that the mission of spreading the gospel is something we all have to do, not just a few. We just have to be open to the promptings that the Holy Spirit gives us at the times that we must speak. We aren’t all called to go door to door, I know that is something I get nervous just thinking about. There are many times when someone around us needs to be reminded of the truth about Jesus. There will be times when our actions will resonate a 100x more with someone than a single word ever could. I like the quotes,

 “You may be the only Bible someone will ever read” 

“Live in such a way that people who know you but don’t know Christ will want to know Christ because they know you.”

I may not have all the important verses memorized, but I do know my life story. I know how many times God has come into my life and turned it upside down for the better. My biggest testimony is how I’ve come to deal with homosexuality/same-sex attraction in my own life. I have friends who don’t agree with the way I see my SSA, they would rather I accept it and go out and find myself a boyfriend and be happy. They don’t understand why I want to “live” like this. I do get lonely, I do yearn for that close relationship but I also understand that it’s not the answer for me. Even if we don’t agree, I still care for them, I still love them. I know guys who have that life and I don’t judge them, I don’t criticize them because they are still God’s children. If they ever need help I’d like for them to know that I’d help them because they are souls who Adonai gave life to. I’d be glad to have them as friends. By now I think almost everyone knows Side A and Side B on the subject of homosexuality and I feel like it’s not my job to try to convince someone to “switch sides” I believe the important thing is to be there for them when they need a helping hand, and not hit them on the head with the Bible.

I also have the testimony of how Jesus took me into his arms and rescued me from my attempt at suicide. Also how he has helped me each time that I have wanted to give up on life for different reasons. Every day is a new battle and every day the Holy Spirit helps me overcome my anxiety, depression, self-hate, and so many other things. I know there are many out there who go through the same things every day.

I may not be called to go door to door or to go speak in front of large crowds, but I have set my heart to be ever vigilant for when the time arises for me to speak and share the gospel in they way the Holy Spirit wants me to share it. I do not want to remain silent the rest of my life and then have to face the day when I’ll have to see how many souls were lost or hurt along the way because I didn’t speak.

I do pray for those who are out there preaching the gospel in lands where they are persecuted constantly. I pray they continue to have the strength and faith to do so, and that I never forget about them. I pray that I never get so comfortable in my life that I decide to never go out there and do my part.

May God help us all to evangelize and reach out to those who need to and have yet to know about Christ.

Found this one last year when I had to look for something to sing during the month dedicated to the ministry of evangelism. It has been a song I’ve kept near me especially when I need the reminder of why it is I am here on Earth. May it be a blessing to you as well

Leave a Reply

